Sunday, February 01, 2009

The Five Marks of Mission
The Mission of the Church is the Mission of Christ

It is good from time to time for Episcopopcorners to remember what we are to be about as a Church. The "Five Marks of Mission" as developed by the Anglican Consultative Council between 1984 and 1990 is a good place to start. These marks are as follows:
  1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
  2. To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
  3. To respond to human need by loving service
  4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society, and
  5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth
(Bonds of Affection-1984 ACC-6 p49, Mission in a Broken World-1990 ACC-8 p101)